21 Savage Issa Artwork

ISSA Wack Album… 21 Savage Album Review

By | Album, Music, Recap | No Comments

Where to begin… I am a fan of 21 Savage, probably more than most people, with that being said ‘ISSA’ is a wack album.  When the Savage Mode mixtape dropped in 2016 he gained an instant fan, the tape was street, gritty, and one of the rawest bodies of music to be released that year.  Fast forward through all the collabs since his move into the limelight, the day is finally here for his debut album entitled ‘ISSA’.

21 Savage must have a great sense of humor or the marketing team his label hired are geniuses because the title to his album ‘ISSA’ is a play off of a meme that took the internet by storm after an interview that 21 did where he refers to his tattoo on his forehead as “issa knife…”.  Peep the video clip below if you were living under a rock in 2016:

Now why would I go from being a 21 fanboy to (almost) completely disliking the shit out of his debut album?  Let me try to explain this as clearly and thoroughly as possible; you’re new to the rap game, you strike it lucky for your first major release and get Metro Boomin (one of the hottest producers in the game) to exclusively produce your entire project, you blow up because of this project… THEN you get a budget for a major release album, instead of sticking to the formula that got your big, you decide to switch up your flow AND your choice of beats, then to hype up the release of your album you hire Amber fucking Rose to pretend to be into you…  This is why I think its garbage.

‘ISSA’ features production from Metro Boomin, Zaytoven, Pierre Bourne, Southside, and DJ Mustard which would make you think that this is going to be the most fire album of 2017, wrong.  Even though the producers he picked are the ones you’d expect from him, the beats he chose from these producers are wack as shit.  Almost like 21 picked all the beats that he thought were ‘commercial’ enough to get him some mainstream radio play and left his trap shit behind on Savage Mode.

21 is not a lyricist, and I’m not blind to that fact, but when you hide his unintelligent raps behind some hard hitting beats like Metro did on ‘Savage Mode’ you get some pretty good music.  On the flip side when you chose radio friendly commercial style beats and put some 21 lyrics on them, you get an earful of crap.  And honestly the absolute worst part, there are ZERO features on this album, who told 21 that he could carry an entire album by himself?!  Fuck off.

Since this album dropped about the same time as the new Jay-Z ‘4:44’ album a lot of people have been fighting over which one is better (in respects to their own sounds), if you want my opinion don’t bother with either of them and instead go download the Dae Dae x London On Da Track mixtape ‘The DefAnition’ if you haven’t already, now THAT’S a great body of work.

Still wanna check out ‘ISSA’ for some fucking reason? Stream it below on Spotify:


More music news and reviews available on

TrakkSounds DJ Hustle


By | Album, Featured, Music, News | No Comments
TrakkSounds crafts a smooth beat for the three MCs,
who each shine with their respective contributions.
Ferg’s verse and Maxo’s hook are very entertaining, but
Killa Kyleon’s bars are the highlight of the record.”
XXL Magazine
HustleTV Music News…  Award-winning producer TrakkSounds & Houston rapper Killa Kyleon partner with XXL Magazine to premiere their new collaborative track “Never Tipsy” featuring A$AP Ferg and Maxo Kream. The smoking jam pays tribute to the legendary Pimp C and shines a light on H-town hip-hop.  The potent track will be included in TrakkSounds’ brand new album The Other Side releasing today, April 25th via Pairadime Music Group.
Trakksounds says, “It was a no brainer to collaborate with Killa, Ferg, and Maxo, who all keep it trill. Everyone on this song has a different sound but we were all inspired by legendary Houston artists Pimp C and DJ Screw. They put H-town hip-hop in the spotlight and while we pay mad respect to them, we’ve also made it our own.”

“This is the Other Side of music that may not be heard on the radio every day,” explains TrakkSounds.  “Mike Dean, Pimp C, and Scarface were all heavy influencers on my sound as a producer. A lot of people don’t realize Pimp C and Scarface were actually producers on a lot of their own songs. I am excited to show everyone the different sides of music I get to work on and how talented the artists are that I’ve had the pleasure to work with.”

TrakkSounds has recruited an array of top talent for his 15-track project, The Other Side, including: Scarface, Kevin Gates, Devin The Dude, A$AP Ferg and more. Lead single “Once Upon A Time” featuring Scarface and Starlito premiered with XXL who praised the track’s dark piano laden production as “fantastic.” The follow-up TLC-inspired “11:15” featuring Devin The Dude and Kirko Bangz was named “Best Of The Week” on Houston tastemaker blog Day & A Dream. Also, TrakkSounds made “Can’t Explain It” a DXclusive on HipHopDX while enlisting Scotty ATL, Rizzoo Rizzoo and Oran Juice Jones II. HustleTV
The Other Side – Album Tracklist:
1. Intro
2. Once Upon A Time (Ft. Starlito, Scarface, Kam Franklin)
3. Priorities (Ft. GT Garza, Roosh Williams, Doeman)
4. Feel Alive (Ft. T2 The Ghetto Hippie, Dizzy Wright)
5. Fireflies (Ft. Fat Dollies)
6. Issues (Ft. Constantine)
7. Active (Ft. Maxo Kream, Xavier Wulf)
8. Can’t Explain It (Ft. Scotty ATL, Rizzoo Rizzoo, OranJuiceJones II)
9. 11:15 (Ft. Devin The Dude, Kirko Bangz, Neko)
10. No Doubt About It (Ft. Railey Rose)
11. Never Tipsy (Ft. Killa Kyleon, ASAP Ferg, & Maxo Kream)
12. Known Fact (Ft. Scotty ATL)
13. B.M.W. (Ft. Ye Ali)
14. Ringing (TrakkSounds Remix) (Ft. Kevin Gates & Killa Kyleon)
15. Cloud 9 ft. M.U.G. & Rich Andruws
About TrakkSounds:
Trakksounds is the genius behind the piano… an in demand producer whose sound varies from simple piano melodies, to soul and funk, to ‘90s bounce, to futuristic sounds and beyond.  It’s no wonder that Houston Press declared him “one of the best producers in Houston” who’s “Poised for a Big 2017!” At only 24, he was one of the youngest talents to be crowned “Producer Of The Year” at the 2014 Houston Press Music Awards and was proclaimed to be “next in line” to Grammy Award winning Southern-bred producers N.O. Joe and Mike Dean.
Trakksounds’ versatility has made him a go to producer in the South working with Wiz Khalifa, 2Chainz, A$AP Rocky, A$AP Ferg, Mac Miller, Bun B, Chamillionaire, Slim Thug, Killer Mike, Scarface, Freddie Gibbs and many others. His music has been featured in Viceland hit shows Black Market, Payday and licensed to the NBA. Trakksounds’ debut album The Other Side(iTunes Link) will release April 25th, 2017 and features guests Scarface, Starlito, Devin The Dude, Kevin Gates, Dizzy Wright, Maxo Kream, Killa Kyleon, Kirko Bangz, Xavier Wulf and more. HustleTV
TrakkSounds DJ Hustle

TrakkSounds DJ Hustle

Kendrick Lamar HustleTV DJ Hustle Los Angeles DJ LA Hustle

To Pimp a Butterfly Kendrick Lamar View More by This Artist

By | Album | No Comments

Following 2012’s electrifying good kid, m.A.A.d city, the supremely gifted, Compton-bred rapper delivers another uncompromising and deeply affecting listening experience. Packed with jazzy, dreamlike production and staggering lyrical work, To Pimp a Butterfly finds Kendrick Lamar grappling with the weight of his newfound fame—as a representative of his community and as a young black man. Through the funky menace of “King Kunta,” Lamar makes blistering reference to the protagonist of Alex Haley’s Roots, while the feverish standout, “The Blacker the Berry,” sees him attack black-on-black crime with singular precision and ferocity.

Read More